There is a misconception that karma is the equivalent of punishment. Karma is the Sanskrit word for action and is the law of cause and effect. It is the equivalent of Newton’s law of motion of “every action has an equal reaction.” Moreover, we all have an abstract understanding of karma. It is what we refer to when we say “what goes around comes around.”

However, this begs the question, how do you attract good karma into your life? Well, there are 12 little known laws of karma that will change your approach to life.

1. The Great Law

Similar to the law of attraction, the great law of karma means that you receive what you give out.

That is, “You reap what you sow.” If we desire honest relationships with others, we have to be candid and authentic ourselves. If you long for happiness, act accordingly and be loving. For financial abundance, then be generous.

The 12 Laws of Karma Will Change Your Approach to Life Life is like a garden, you reap what you sow.

2. The Law of Creation

Life requires our participation.

Everything around is the creation of someone’s intentions. Even our lives are the result of our inner state, although it’s inadvertent in most people’s lives.

Therefore, we cannot wait for things to happen; instead, we must put in the action to make them happen. Finally, surround yourself with what you want, so it is conducive for your desires.

3. The Law of Humility

Of all the laws of karma, Buddhism emphasizes the law of humility. The karmic law stresses acceptance which is a near universal virtue; that is, we must accept what is before we can change it.

The 12 Laws of Karma Will Change Your Approach to Life The first step towards change is awareness; the second is acceptance quote

4. The Law of Growth

Real change can only occur when we change who we are inside. As above so below and as within so without. If we want to see growth or change externally, we must be committed to changing internally. The good news though is that we have absolute control over ourselves, and our growth is beyond any circumstance.

5. The Law of Responsibility

Following on the laws of karma is the law of responsibility. You are the source of what happens around you, and the outside world mirrors our internal state. If chaos surround you, then there is turbulence within, and the only way to bring peace is to find peace within.

The law teaches us to take ownership of the state of the world around us as only then can we change it.

6. The Law of Connection

Often, we give more meaning to an aspect of our lives over another. We might cherish the present over the past, or think the future will be better, unlike the here and now. However, one of the laws of karma, the law of connection, emphasizes the interconnectedness of the past the present and the future.

Neither the first nor the last are better as they were both required to accomplish the task.

7. The Law of Focus

Our minds cannot follow multiple trains of thoughts and be equally proficient. Therefore, it is best you focus on one goal, the central goal, over multi-tasking.

The karmic law of focus also teaches that you cannot focus on higher and lower values simultaneously. We cannot harbor negative emotions and expect to grow spiritually, and we must direct our full attention to what we desire.

The 12 Laws of Karma Will Change Your Approach to Life Your focus determines your reality.

8. The Law of Giving and Hospitality

Another law of karma is the law of giving and hospitality. The law teaches that there will come a time when you will have to demonstrate your beliefs. It encourages one to ensure that their actions mirror their beliefs.

9. The Law of Change

Have you ever been at a point where situations keep repeating themselves, and nothing seems to be changing? As if life is telling you something by repeating the same situations. Well, in a sense you understand one of the laws of karma, the law of change.

History will repeat itself until you put positive energy to direct it elsewhere or you learn something fundamental.

10. The Law of Here and Now

The karmic law of here and now teaches us to be entirely in the present moment. It recognizes that at any time, the here and now is all we ever have and it is to be engaged with and enjoyed. Focusing on the past leads to regret while having one foot in the future results in anxiety over the unknown.

Come back to the here and now as it is the only place you can truly live.

11. The Law of Patience and Reward

“He who masters patience masters everything else.” – George Savile

Good things come to those who wait, and you cannot replace patience, persistence, and hard work, with wishful thinking. You have to be willing to do the heavy lifting to create anything of value.

12. The Law of Significance and Inspiration

The last of the laws of karma is on significance and inspiration. The law teaches that no matter how insignificant we might feel we contribute to the whole and the universe would be different without our contribution (no matter how small it seems). It is one law that you should reflect on when you need a motivational boost.

The law also teaches that the value of any venture is the result of the energy and intent directed towards it.

Following these laws of karma will ensure you attract good karma and that your contribution as a whole is positive.

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.